home for the holidays

eve1

Nothing beats Christmas. You can argue with me until the cows come home, but I will never change my mind. Everything about the season is magical. But this year my spirits were a little out of loop, and though I still can’t figure out why, my husband told me maybe it’s because I’m an adult now (whatever that means!). I’m still holding onto the pure, unadulterated joy I felt as a child during Christmas time. But now when I’m surrounded by other adults, I don’t know if they feel quite the same. I love baking cookies and seeing Christmas lights and doing all things Christmas, and unless I have a child around, I don’t receive the same enthusiasm from others my age.

Regardless, I had a wonderful Christmas back home with my family. Everything from the fire burning to Christmas music playing to yummy treats being eaten to twinkle lights shining helped fuel that Christmas spirit. We spent a couple of days at home just spending quality time with one another, baking and playing games and opening gifts. We colored, took a walk, spent hours making gingerbread houses (out of graham crackers), and my mother taught me how to cross-stitch. I showed my niece how to make fudge and my annual dinner rolls; I can’t wait until I can be in a kitchen with my own children teaching them the same things. And I’m always especially grateful to spend time with my mama.

As usual, I’m not in many photos because I’m the picture taker amongst my family (and amongst my friends). But my husband is sweet and tries to remember to pick it up now and then to capture me in a few photos as well.

IMG_2366(2)Web

IMG_2368(2)Web

eve2

eve3

IMG_2376(2)Web

eve4

eve5

christmas1

christmas2

christmas3

IMG_2499(2)Web

christmas4

christmas5

christmas6

IMG_2500(2)Web

IMG_2510(2)Web

IMG_2520(2)Web

IMG_2521(2)Web

christmas7

IMG_2536(2)Web

christmas8

IMG_2561(2)Web

IMG_2628(2)Web

IMG_2633(2)Web

-wonderland sam

Posted by

actress/texan kickin' it in los angeles. always searching for my next pizza. cia agent in another life.

Leave a comment