the best chocolate chip cookies recipe

I’m really obsessive about a lot of things – holidays, television shows, my favorite tees. But the one thing that probably tops the list is chocolate chip cookies. They are basically the only perfect thing on this earth and are by and large my favorite dessert. If I am ever faced with a choice of cookies, I will never not choose chocolate chip.

All of this is to say that I have eaten a lot of chocolate chip cookies. When we first moved to LA, I was in the very bad good bad habit of baking chocolate chip cookies at least once a week – and with no one but myself and husband to eat them, that was a habit I had to tame.

Usually, I bake my cookies using the receipt on the back of the Nestle bag (yes, that basic, and that good). But, if I really want to indulge – and don’t mind grabbing the few extra ingredients – I will bake the BEST CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES RECIPE.

bestchocolatechipcookiesrecipe4

The best chocolate chip cookies recipe comes from my sister’s best friend’s mom (sharing with permission, of course), and the main addition that puts these over the top is the Heath toffee bits. It’s a tried and true favorite, and if you’re a genius like my friend Lindsy, you’ll freeze the dough, so you can pop these in the oven and have fresh, hot, heavenly cookies at a moment’s notice.

So, what are you waiting for? I’m sure there is no shortage of holiday parties coming up, but these are also good if you just want to devour the whole batch yourself (#nojudgment). Scroll down for the recipe, and get baking!

bestchocolatechipcookiesrecipe5

bestchocolatechipcookiesrecipe3

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 large package dry instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 (12-oz.) package semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 (12-oz.) package semisweet chocolate chunks
  • 1/2 (12-oz.) package Heath toffee bits (NOT the milk chocolate covered ones)

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix flour, pudding mix, salt, and baking soda in a small bowl. Set aside.

Mix brown sugar, granulated sugar, butter, and vanilla until smooth. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Stir flour mixture into butter mixture, a little at a time, until smooth. Stir in chocolate chips, chocolate chunks, and toffee bits.

Place large rounded drops of cookie batter on a cookie sheet (I can only fit 9 on a baking tray).

Bake 12-15 minutes, until just golden. Don’t let them get too brown! Remove to wire racks to cool.

*Click here for a downloadable printable of this recipe.

bestchocolatechipcookiesrecipe

bestchocolatechipcookiesrecipe7

Also – my mama’s favorite chili recipe and some DIY place cards for this autumn season.

-wonderland sam

imdb.me/samanthalee

Posted by

actress/texan kickin' it in los angeles. always searching for my next pizza. cia agent in another life.

13 thoughts on “the best chocolate chip cookies recipe

Leave a comment