Skip to content

fortune dinner rolls

November 27, 2012

Last year I braved making my own dinner rolls from scratch for Thanksgiving. Why would I subject myself to that when the stomachs of 30 people were depending on me? Especially when I had never baked with yeast before? You tell me. But by some twist of fate, or by a super easy, delicious roll recipe, I succeeded. And went on to bake these for Christmas. And again for this past Thanksgiving. They are so soft and buttery and perfect. Rolls are my favorite part of the Thanksgiving meal (is that lame?), so I am ecstatic to have found a recipe that works every time.

Last year I sent out an email to all of our family members to find out for what they were thankful. Like you’ll see in the recipe, I placed these words of thanks on slips of paper to roll inside the bread. This year (mainly due to last minute planning), I went with quotes instead. Quotes from my favorite movies, books, actors, etc. Some were funny, and some were sentimental. It adds a little something special to these already delicious rolls. I am loving making this a tradition for every Thanksgiving and Christmas. :)

Side note: I give myself 3 hours from start to finish. It takes about an hour for the dough to double in size and another 30 minutes for the bread to rise on the baking trays. I also use instant yeast.

My focusing sensor was acting off when I took this photo, but all is good now (I hope)!

-wonderland sam

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,025 other followers

